This store requires javascript to be enabled for some features to work correctly.


Stray Fossa - Closer Than We’ll Ever Know

  • Sold Out
Shipping calculated at checkout.
Our Members pay only: $ 20.70
Our VIP Members pay only: $ 19.55

Join the club and save on this item!

On top of ultra-deluxe vinyl, Vinyl Moon members get special discounts in the VM Shop, access to exclusive pressings, discounted shipping options, hidden surprises, and more.

Explore Memberships

Closer Than We’ll Ever Know

The indie group Stray Fossa’s self-produced follow-up to 2021’s With You For Ever (VM Exclusive color HERE) is out June 3, 2022 via Vinyl Moon homies Born Losers Records. Album art by Chris Minielly of another VM fave Jaguar Sun, from the piece “Waves” (2021).  With music lovingly created in the trio's attic studio, and then pressed on emerald clear vinyl with an ear for quality, this album is all about distance.  

In some tracks, the distance is in time, reflected by a memory or longing for the past/future. In others, the narrative centers more on what separates us physically or mentally – the negative space in which we navigate (or fail to navigate) our relationships with ourselves and others. In a handful of songs, distance is a welcome relief. In others it is painful.

Distance not only follows the album thematically but also shaped the writing and production process. With two-thirds of the band relocated to Europe to be with family, the three were no longer able to knock on each other’s doors to exchange demos. In place of a shared house, almost all tracks were carefully pieced together in bedroom studios and living rooms in Hamburg, Munich, and Salem, Massachusetts – with some recording done in Charlottesville, Virginia, where brothers, Nick and Will Evans, and Zach Blount formed Stray Fossa in early 2018. With collaborative songwriting on scattered iPhone notes and shared project folders, the band managed to virtually re-create their attic studio.

Distance is something most of us can or could empathize with.  Could be the pandemic, or maybe you haven't seen family or friends for a while, but either way, this one will tug on your heart.

Themes: Distance, Anticipation, Longing, Movement, Change, Time, Sense of place

  • 1. Into 
  • 2. Transpiring
  • 3. Driftlines 
  • 4. Perfectly Out Of Time 
  • 5. For What Was 
  • 6. Liminal 
  • 7. So Still 
  • 8. Never Rest For Good
  • 9. Goners 
  • 10. Are You Gonna Be Okay 
  • 11. In A Year 
  • 12. Comma, Comma 
  • 13. Better Late Than... 
Explore Freely
Your satisfaction is literally guaranteed.

Say goodbye to seam splits and corner dings. Our records are shipped in specially designed protective mailers to ensure their safe arrival. If, for some reason, your record doesn't get to you in one piece, we'll replace it, no questions asked.

Our records don't come with trash. They come in reusable sleeves, as opposed to the typical shrink-wrap, to ensure your vinyl stays protected at all times. It also saves you from having to buy one. Happy people, happy planet.

We want you to have a fun, stress-free discovery experience. If you need help, have questions, or just want to chat music, we're always here for you. Contact us anytime.

Music and art are pleasures to be enjoyed. If, for whatever reason, you don't love your first record, you can send it back for a swap or full refund with no questions asked. Discover freely.